top of page

Introducing Carla! Our Spanish officer!


Hi everybody! My name is Carla and I came to England because I wanted to improve my English.

I am from Barcelona and I studied Business and administration in the University of Barcelona. When I was living in Barcelona the last year before to decide to go abroad, I was working in a Marketing and Sales Marketing.




Everything was amazing, less my English level. In spite of that I tried to go an English academy in Barcelona, this didn't work at all. My English still was not good. So I started to look for different options. I was looking information about Australia, Canada and United Kingdom.  Finally my decision was England!


How was the process?


I contacted an agency like Student Works in Spain and they helped me to find an English course and accommodation, in my case a host family. To be honest, for me was better to have everything organise before to start my new adventure.


At the beginning I was really scared! But I will always remember my first day in England, and I am pretty sure that I will never forget.

The first week I met a lot of people, who help me to create my own bank account and the National Insurance Number.

For three first months I was living in a host family, and it had been a great experience for my life. During this period I went to an English  school in the town centre. And that was really useful at the beginning. I met a lot of people and that thing really help me.


Actually in this moment I did not have date to go back. So I decided to look for a job, I found one in Christchurch, in a village near to Bournemouth to be waitress. When the English course finished, I wanted to extent my lessons and I contacted with Student Works and they helped me, in this moment was an offer! Pay one month and get one free, I was really happy about this promotion, so I went to the school for two months more.

After this I decided to change my accommodation with a man, who I had met here, in Bournemouth. After seven months we are still living together and I have an office work.


So, you never know what will happen to you. If you need a change in your life, in my own opinion this is the best way. Going abroad! There are a lot of opportunities here, you can improve your English and meet incredible people.


Hola a todos! Mi nombre es Carla y vine a Inglaterra porque quería mejorar mi nivel de Inglés. Soy de Barcelona, allí estudie administración y dirección de empresas en la Universidad de Barcelona. Cuando estaba viviendo en Barcelona, el último año antes de decidir ir al extranjero estuve trabajando en una empresa de Marketing y Ventas.


Todo era increíble menos mi nivel de Inglés. Traté de ir a una academia, pero no funcionó. Mi Inglés era terrible. Así que empece a buscar opciones para irme al extranjero. Mis preferencias eran Australia, Canada y Reino Unido.  Finalmente decidí venir a Inglaterra!


Contacte con una agencia parecida a Student Works en España y ellos me ayudaron a encontrar un curso de Inglés y alojamiento, en mi caso era una host family. Sinceramente para mi fue mejor tenerlo todo organizado antes de partir.


Al principio estaba un poco asustada. Pero siempre recordaré mi primer día en Inglaterra, y estoy convencida que es algo que jamás podré olvidar.  La primera semana conocí a un montón de gente, que me ayudo a crear mi cuenta bancaria así como el National Insurance Number.


Los tres primeros meses estuve viviendo en una Host family, y esa fue una experiencia única.  Durante tres meses fui a una academia de Inglés en el centro de la ciudad. Ese hecho fue de mucha utilidad al principio. Conocí a un montón de gente extranjera y ese hecho me ayudó muchísimo.


Realmente en ese momento no tenía fecha de regreso. Es por ello que decidí buscar trabajo, y encontré uno de camarera en Christchurch, un pueblo cerca de Bournemouth. Cuando mi curso de Inglés terminó, decidí extender mis clases y contacte con Student Works y ellos me ayudaron, en ese momento había una oferta; paga un mes y obtiene uno gratuito, estuve muy contenta con la promoción, así es que volví a la escuela dos meses mas.

Unos meses más tarde cambie de alojamiento con un chico de Barcelona que había conocido en Bournemouth previamente. Después de siete meses continuamos viviendo juntos y hace poco encontré trabajo en una oficina en Student Works, así que ahora os puedo ayudar a vosotros!


Nunca sabes que te puede ocurrir! Si necesitas un cambio, en mi opinión ir al extranjero es la mejor solución.  Aquí hay muchas oportunidades, puedes mejorar tu nivel de Inglés y también conocer a gente increíble.


Comments


bottom of page